How to Get Your Medical Marijuana Card
Under Medical Marijuana Law in Colorado, a medical marijuana card is mandatory for all patients being treated with medical marijuana. One may obtain a card from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). The cost for your medical marijuana card is $35 and the application process can take up to 30 days to be processed.
Medical Marijuana Application Process
There are two different applications depending on how old you are: over 18 and under 18 years old. The following links will take you to the over and under 18 application pages on the CDPHE website.
- Schedule an appointment with a doctor in good standing. You can confirm the doctor’s status here.
- Write neatly and completely fill out all sections of the forms.
- If you make a mistake, start over with a new form. Don't mark the pages with any cross-outs, write-overs or using white-out to correct any information.
- Contact a notary and sign and date forms in front of him/her.
- Notary may not be the patient's caregiver, physician or the individual signing the form of payment.
- Your signature and the notary's signature dates must be the same.
- Include the application fee payment.
- Write a check or money order out to CDPHE.
- Include patient's name on the form of payment.
- Include all required IDs.
- Incorporate a copy of your Colorado driver’s license or valid state ID.
- If you do not have Colorado identification, include your out-of-state ID and proof of Colorado residency (bank statements etc.).
- If listing a caregiver on your form, also include a copy of the caregiver’s ID.
- Completed application packets include:
- The Application.
- A Physicians Certification.
- A copy of the patient’s ID.
- If listing a caregiver, form MMR1012 Caregiver Acknowledgment and a copy of the caregiver’s ID must be included.
- A signed check or money order to cover administrative fees or a Request for Fee Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status.
- Submit application forms and all other paperwork to the Registry all in one envelope.
- Send all forms within the time frame required. The physician's signature on the Physicians Certification must be within 60 days of submitting applications. All other forms must be received within 10 days of the notary’s signature.
Who can apply?
To apply for a medical marijuana red card, you must:
- Be a Colorado resident (proof of identity and residency will be required with your application).
- Be accepting treatment for one of the qualifying medical conditions (listed above).
- Be examined by a doctor with whom you have a physician-patient relationship.
- Submit a complete application packet.
Renew your registration card
Renewal applications must be submitted yearly to remain with the registry. The renewal application process is identical to the new patient application process. Send in your paperwork 45-60 days before your current card expires to avoid unnecessary delays.
Application review process
Applications are processed in the order in which they are received and may take up to 35 days to complete. The following is the process:
- Initial review: The registry will make sure all applications meet the criteria described in the aforementioned application instructions. If correct, the application fee will be processed.
- Approved application: If the application packet is complete, with all supporting materials, your card will be mailed to the address on the application.
- Rejected application: If your packet is inaccurate and/or unfinished, a rejection letter will mailed to you that details what corrections need to be fixed. Appropriate corrections must be made within 60 days.
- Approved corrections: Corrections submitted to the registry are reviewed for accuracy and completeness. Once reviewed, they are processed in order of the date received. Your marijuana red card will be mailed to you within four to six weeks if the changes meet the requirements.
- Corrections after 60 days: If you don't get your application in within the 60-day correction window, you must submit a new application packet and application fee.
- Denial: A denied application means the applicant has violated a statute or Board of Health regulation and is being denied access to the registry. You will then have to wait six months before reapplying for your medical marijuana card.
- Appeals: If denied, a notice will be sent to you outlining the reason(s). If you are in disagreement with the Board's decision, you may request an appeals hearing in writing. The request needs to be received within 30 calendar days from the postmark date on the notice.
Common reasons for rejection
- Not all paperwork was submitted.
- The form is incomplete/missing all of the required information.
- The form has corrections made with white-out or writing over existing information.
- The notary’s signature date and patient’s signature date do not match.
- The forms missed being submitted within the required time period.
- The notary isn’t active and/or the notary section is incorrect.
- There is no copy of the recommending physician's DEA certification on file with the registry.
- A non-qualifying medical professional completed the certification and has conditions on his/her license.
- A wrong form was submitted by the patient, or they submitted an outdated version of the form.
- The information in the registry database does not match the patient’s unique identifying information.
Common reasons for denial
Rejection and denial are not the same. If rejected, you’ll receive a letter telling you what to do to correct the issue(s) and how to resubmit your application. An application is denied when it violates a state statute or Board of Health regulation.
Per Board of Health rules, applications will be denied for the following reasons:
- Physician recommendation falsification.
- Falsification of any information on the application.
- The application ID card isn’t the patient’s ID card.
- A Colorado resident is not the applicant.
- The applicant’s submission is incomplete and the patient’s application has already been rejected twice.