Colorado Medical Marijuana Qualifications
In November of 2000, Coloradans passed constitutional Amendment 20, which legally allows patients with certain illnesses to use marijuana for medical reasons in the state of Colorado.
In order to qualify for medical marijuana usage, one must have a debilitating medical condition and procure a registry card - also known as a medical marijuana red card or cannabis card - from Colorado's Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). One must adhere to a set of rules and regulations, which create a secure statewide registry of medical cannabis patients and caregivers with ID cards for all registered patients. Amendment 20 allows doctors and caregivers alike a legal defense to criminal prosecution under the state’s marijuana laws.
Read all of Amendment 20 here.
Although Colorado has implemented legal recreational marijuana, it still operates medical marijuana dispensaries (like ours) for valid patients. Colorado MMJ patients are still required to pay the standard sales tax, but are exempt from the higher taxes and additional Colorado state taxes collected from recreational cannabis sales.
Qualifying MMJ conditions in Colorado include:
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Severe pain
How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Colorado
- One must be a Colorado resident with a legal Colorado ID as proof of residency in the state. If you do not have an acceptable Colorado ID, an out of state ID, passport, or other photo ID with proof of residency (utility bill, bank statement, etc.) is acceptable.
- Obtain and provide appropriate medical records and/or documentation from your primary care physician describing your diagnosis/ailment.
- Obtain a written authorization or recommendation from a Colorado licensed physician that explains you will benefit from the medical use of cannabis.
- Obtain a medical marijuana red card from the CDPHE. The cost is $90 and the application course can take up to 30 days to process. Patients over 18 years of age may download an application form here. Patients under the age of 18 can download the form here.
Contacting the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
Medical Marijuana Registry
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE)
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80246-1530