Amendment 20 & 64
Congratulations Colorado, You've Made History! We are proud of our fellow Coloradans & Washingtonians in making their voices heard in the 2012 Election!
The medical marijuana system will still remain in place regardless of the fact that marijuana has been legalized for recreational use. Only Colorado medical marijuana red card patients can shop at MMC's such as our facility.
Colorado’s First Medical Marijuana Law: Amendment 20 (2000)
In November of 2000, voters of the state of Colorado passed Amendment 20 to the state’s constitution, codified in article XVIII, section 14. This article effectively legalized limited amounts of medical marijuana for patients and their primary caregivers.
18+ years old (also with 2 doctors recommend and parent consent for 13 to 17 years of age), can purchase and possess up to 2 ounces from Medical Marijuana Center, grow 6 plants (6 unless otherwise recommended by a doctor for higher ounce amounts and plant counts), must see a doctor each year for a recommendation. Colorado residency required. $15 state license fee.
The State of Colorado allows new patients to use temporary paperwork for the first 35 days. This paperwork can ONLY be used from 8am-5pm Monday-Friday, excluding weekends, as we need to verify that paperwork not been rejected by the CDPHE by calling during normal business hours.
Upon arrival to Medical Marijuana of the Rockies please have the following in order to purchase your medicine:
- Application to the State of Colorado (Notarized and Signed).
- Doctor's Recommendation (Signed within 60 days of the date of submission).
- Valid Colorado Driver's License OR out of State License with proof of residency such as a W-2, Colorado paystub, or utility bill with your Colorado address listed as the mailing address.
- Green Certified Mail Receipt.
- The whole packet cannot be older then 35 days. After 35 days, you must wait until you receive your new marijuana red card in order to shop.
Renewal Patients - PLEASE READ!
Due to the new State Law regarding renewal paperwork for medical marijuana cards, we cannot accept temporary paperwork from renewing patients when they have let their red card expire.
The State of Colorado allows patients to renew 60 days before a license expires. It is expected that patients who wish to retain their license renew within this time frame, renewal is generally a 4 or 5 week process. So start early! If you let your marijuana red card lapse or are on renewal paperwork you CANNOT shop until your NEW Red Card comes in the mail.
If you have any questions or concerns about the new State Law, please call us at: 970-668-MEDS (6337).
Amendment 64: Regulate marijuana like alcohol (2012)
We are proud of our fellow Coloradans and Washingtonians in making their voices heard in the 2012 election! Congratulations Colorado! You've made History.
Anyone 21+ years old (no residency requirement), can purchase and posses up to 1 ounce from recreational marijuana centers (to find a rec store go to www.DenverTHC.com), and grow up to 6 plants with no recommendation from a doctor required. MMRockies is not licensed for recreational sales.
What RIGHTS you DO NOT have as a MMJ patient OR through Amendment 64 as a Recreational User:
- You may NOT operate a vehicle under the influence of marijuana or use marijuana in a car or other public places. Do not even attempt to consume marijuana in the driver's seat of your car even when the car is parked and off, you still can get in trouble.
- You may NOT sell marijuana to other patients or individuals, but it is perfectly legal to trade or gift marijuana in Colorado to another individual, as long as you are not requiring any payment.
- You are NOT protected under federal law.
- An employer may terminate you for marijuana use.
- Marijuana consumption may affect insurances in which drug tests are mandatory. Having a Red Card does not protect you from this.
- A landlord can restrict you from growing or using marijuana on their property. If a landlord allows for it, be sure to get this on paper and keep it in your records.
- It is still illegal to smoke or consume edibles on Ski Resorts or National Forest areas since it is on Federal Land. Discretion can be a virtue.
- Each county has their own rules with zoning when it comes to personal home grows. It is your responsibility to know what the laws are and abide by them. All personal grows must be locked.
- It is still illegal to ship marijuana or marijuana products through the mail, even if it is to another town in Colorado.
- You must be 21+ in order to consume retail marijuana. You can be a Colorado resident or out of state visitor.
- All marijuana must be in a child proof lockable container stowed in the back of any vehicle and not within arm's reach of the front seats. Think trunk space or in back of the car stow away areas.